Lake LU Regulations
The Alabama Department of Conservation has established limits on the amount of fish that can be taken from the lake during the year. The fishing year will be from July 1st to June 30th of the following year. The limit on number of fish caught will be set from time to time in order to comply with harvesting guidelines. After the total poundage of bass and bream has been harvested, the lake must be closed to fishing for the remainder of the fishing year. All Alabama residents age 16 through 64 must possess a valid Alabama Resident fishing license. All Alabama residents age 65 and older have no license requirements but must show I.D. as proof of age. All Alabama non-residents 16 years of age and older must possess a valid Alabama non-resident fishing license. The license must be presented to the Lake Manager to obtain a fishing permit. Persons fishing with a cane pole only and living in Sumter County do not have to possess a fishing license, but must show I.D. to prove the county of their residence. Minors under age 13 must be supervised by a person 16 years of age or older.
NO SWIMMING WILL BE ALLOWED AT ANYTIME IN THE LAKE.
The University has available 12 flat bottom aluminum fishing boats for rental at $5.00 a day. Students, faculty and staff of the University of West Alabama can rent a boat for $ 3.00 a day. All occupants will be required to provide adequate coast guard approved life jackets (PFD’s) when renting the boats. Vests and paddles may be rented at the Lake Office for $ 1.00 each. The vest and paddle rental fees are waived for all university students, faculty and staff.
Small canoes or small aluminum Jon boats (non-motorized) will be allowed in Lake LU provided the owner can carry the craft to the water. There is a $ 3.00 permit cost to launch your own personal boat. All applicable boating laws of the State of Alabama apply to personal boats. No boat ramping from a trailer will be allowed. No gasoline engines will be allowed in the lake. One battery electric trolling motor not to exceed 2 horsepower will be allowed to be used on rental fishing boats. Operators of small kayaks, canoes and paddleboards are required to wear their personal floatation devices (PFD) at all times they are on Lake LU. These operators are also required to pay the $3 boat launch fee.
- Boats cannot be transferred from one party to another.
- Boats will not be rented to individuals under 16 years of age.
- After returning a rented boat, the user should clean the boat of any litter and the litter should be placed in a receptacle provided at the boat launching area.
- Boats are not to be used as diving platforms. (No swimming allowed)
- Any other State rules and regulations applying to the use of boats also apply to the use of Lake LU boats.
- Boats must be returned to the designated boat area.
The lake may be used for instructional purposes as requested. Requests should be submitted to the Vice President for Financial Affairs who will forward the request with his recommendations to the Business Office for approval and scheduling.
All anglers must stop at Lake Office upon leaving and allow Lake Manager to count and weigh all fish that are being removed from the lake.
Fishermen must carry their gear from the parking area to the boat area. No parking on the grass!
Boats are issued on a first come, first serve basis. There are no boat reservations. Littering is not allowed in any form.
No live bait is allowed except for worms and crickets.
No marking of fish beds.
Handicap parking on grass versus handicap parking spaces is allowed only to severely handicapped persons. Handicapped persons who need to park on the grass must first get permission from the Lake Manager.
No alcoholic beverages are allowed.
No profanity is allowed.
No loud or disturbing music is permitted.
Occasionally the University Biology Department requests a boat for aquatic studies which is issued at no charge.
Anglers may harvest an unlimited amount of largemouth bass provided that all bass are less than 14 inches in total length. Only one bass may be greater than 24". Fifty (50) Bream any size. This limit is per person, per day.